Morocco Elecions: Five Regions Presidencies fall in the hands of PAM Party

0 550

Rabat – Five Regional Councils presidencies have fallen into the hands of the Authenticity and Modernity Party (PAM) after the election of the presidents of regional councils held Monday in the twelve regions of the Kingdom.

In these elections, which occur after the dual municipal and regional elections of September 4, party of Justice and Development (PJD), the National Rally of Independents (RNI) and the Istiqlal (PI) obtained the Presidency of two regions per each, while the Popular Movement (MP) was awarded the President of a single region.

PAM has managed to obtain the presidency of the Casablanca-Settat area back to its secretary general, Mustapha Bakkoury by 40 votes against 34 for his opponent Abdessamad Haikar PJD and that of the region of Tangier-Tetouan, Al Hoceima, in the person of its Deputy Secretary General Ilyas El Omari (42 votes against 20 for his opponent Said Khairoun PJD).

The tractor Party also got the presidency of the Marrakech-Safi region returned to Ahmed Akhchichen, unique candidate elected with 55 votes, that of Beni Mellal, Khenifra in the person of Brahim Mujahid (35 votes against 20 for his opponent Mehdi Atmoun MP) and finally that of the Oriental returned to Abdenbi Baiyoui (32 votes against 18 for his opponent Abdekader Salama RNI).

For its part, the PJD won the presidency of Rabat-Salé-Kenitra, returned to Abdessamad Sekkal elected by 49 votes of the 74 account the advice of the region and that of the region of Draa-Tafilalet, returned to the former Minister of Relations with Parliament and the civil society, Lahbib Choubani (24 votes against 18 for his opponent Mohamed Ansari PI).

The Presidencies regions Guelmim-Oued Noun and Souss-Massa returned to RNI in people of Abderrahim Ben Bouaida (20 votes out of the 39 that make up the council) and Brahim Hafidi (39 votes against 18 for his opponent Abdessamad Kayouh PI).

For its part, the PI has successfully chairing regions of Laayoune-Sakia Al Hamra, returned to Sidi Hamdi Ould Errachid (21 votes against 15 for his opponent Mohamed Razma RNI) and the Dakhla-Oued Ed-Dahab, returned to Ynja Khattat (18 votes against 15 for his opponent Azzouha Mouna El Kachaf PAM).

The Popular Movement won one region, the Fez-Meknes, returned to its secretary general, Mohand Laenser, elected by 43 votes out of 69 board seats.

You might also like More from author